Exploring the 7 Different Types of Migraines and How to Identify Them

Did you know that 1 in 7 people in the world suffers from migraines?

Migraines are a type of chronic headache that can impact an individual’s quality of life. They are characterized by intense throbbing or pulsing pain, usually on one side of the head. It can last for hours or even days.

While most people are familiar with the traditional migraine headache, there are actually 7 different types of migraines. Understanding these different types can help you find a suitable treatment plan. Let’s take a closer look at each type:

1. Migraine Without Aura

This is the most common type of migraine, accounting for 70-90% of all cases. It’s also known as a “common” or “classic” migraine.

The migraine symptoms include moderate to severe throbbing pain on one side of the head. It can be accompanied by nausea, vomiting, and sensitivity to light or sound. The pain can last from 4 to 72 hours and may worsen with physical activity.

2. Migraine With Aura

This type of migraine is less common and includes an aura. This is a group of neurological symptoms that usually occur before the headache.

Auras can include:

  • Flashing lights
  • Blurred vision
  • Sensory changes like numbness or tingling
  • Language difficulties

These symptoms can last for 5 to 20 minutes and are usually followed by a headache. The pain associated with this type of migraine is like the one without aura.

3. Vestibular Migraine

This type of migraine affects the balance centers in the inner ear. This causes vertigo or dizziness along with a headache.

It’s estimated that up to 1% of people may have vestibular migraines. Other symptoms may include ringing in the ears and difficulty concentrating.

4. Hemiplegic Migraine

This is a rare form of migraine, affecting only about 1% of people who suffer from migraines. It’s characterized by temporary paralysis on one side of the body during an attack.

It’s important to seek medical attention for this type of migraine as it can be mistaken for a stroke. This can result in unnecessary treatments and tests.

5. Chronic Migraine

This type of migraine occurs on at least 15 days per month, with at least 8 of those days being migraines. They’re often accompanied by other neurological symptoms. This includes dizziness, fatigue, and difficulty concentrating.

To help you with chronic pain management, consider consulting a chiropractor for migraines and sciatica. They can provide non-invasive migraine treatments to help reduce the frequency and severity of your migraines.

6. Retinal Migraine

Also known as ocular migraines, these involve temporary vision loss in one eye. They can last from a few minutes to an hour and are usually painless. However, they may be followed by a throbbing headache.

This type of migraine is rare, and the exact cause is not fully understood. It’s important to seek medical attention if you experience these symptoms.

7. Menstrual Migraine

This type of migraine occurs in women during their menstrual cycle. It’s believed that hormonal fluctuations trigger these migraines. They are often more severe and last longer than other types of migraines.

Knowing the 7 Different Types of Migraines

These 7 different types of migraines need different approaches for treatment. Understanding which type of migraine you have is crucial. This will help you find the most effective treatment plan and manage your pain.

Consult with a healthcare professional if you suspect you are suffering from migraines to receive an accurate diagnosis and proper treatment plan. Remember, early detection and management can improve your quality of life.

If you’d like to learn more, check out the rest of our website!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *